Week 3 Of DC: The New 52

Big week, and in my haste I forgot to ask for DC Universe Presents to be pulled for me (so that will come when I get that book).

As a side note, for later in the post I need to explain that the way I read my comics is by stacking my pile starting with the titles I’m trying out and have no expectations for.  Than, I go based on past performance – ordering them from silver down to gold.  So for example, this week Avengers is the last title in my stack because it’s the title I’m most looking forward to reading.  My biggest crisis is when there are multiple Bendis titles in a week and I’m forced to determine which goes last.   

The “Did Not Buy” Category

  • Blue Beetle
  • Green Lantern Corps

Gold Medal Winners

Batman: everyone has their favorite Batman, and it usually is the interpretation that they were first exposed to (a moment of silence to pray for the children who first saw Batman in “The New Adventures of Batman” Filmation cartoon).

Batman as a character is fully formed, but it’s interesting to watch writers over the era pull in certain character traits and push back on others.  It’s a combination of the writer and the era in which they write him.  An interesting visualization would be to map Batman’s character traits in a “SWOT analysis” type of chart and then plot out the different eras and writers over the past 70+ years.

What I saw in Scott Snyder’s interoperation was something that I love about Batman; focusing on his detective skills.  My favorite Batman stories are where he is less a guy in a costume punching dudes and more “the world’s greatest detective.”  Snyder was practicing with Dick Grayson in Detective Comics recently, and he’s really ratcheted it up for this title.

Combining that with balancing Bruce Wayne as an approachable business and family man (and not the guy who comes across as a jerk), and this is a winner.

The title reads exceptionally well, so much so that I’d hold this up to anyone who watches television shows like “Bones,” “Criminal Minds” or “CSI” and say that this is far more fulfilling and far more compelling.  It’s got action.  The murder mystery.  Strong character development.  Snyder is hitting on all cylinders with this one.  His Batman goes strongly onto that SWOT chart along with the other great Batmans (Batmen?) of the past 70 years.

Catwoman: per my review of Batwing, I am biased since the author is a friend of mine.  That said, this is a remarkably strong issue for both story and art.  The character voice is firmly established and there are nice hints to her background/past provided in the first issue.  There’s action, humor and an ending that works as a story element for both plot and character in upcoming issues.  The art on this title by Guillem March is spectacular.  He does this thing where he draws everything hyper-realistic, but the cats are cartoony; and it totally works.  I should also mention the colorist Tomeu Morey added a tremendous amount of energy and depth to this book.  It’s lush and one of the most beautiful and skillfully colored titles out this week.  If you want an example of how a good colorist can make an issue better, study this issue.

Since it is being discussed online, I would ask people to read the issue for themselves and form their own opinion on the title, and not just rely on reviews (which I’ve found don’t always provide proper context).  Read the issue for yourself, move away from the echo chamber and you’ll see that there are both positive and negative responses to this issue.  It’s ok to like it.  It’s ok not to like it.  But read it and make your own decisions and participate in the thoughtful and meaningful debate happening online and in comic stores (and avoid the pitchfork/torch wielding mob mentality of the forums).

As always, everyone is entitled to their opinions and two things I think that have been sorely minimized in this discussion:

  1. This is a T+ (16 years-old and up) rated title.  Just like The Dark Knight film is PG-13, this is a title that has an appropriate age attached to it as well.  Our culture treats sex as taboo and yet we are unfazed by violence (This Film Is Not Yet Rated does a better job of explaining this than I can here).
  2. The other thing I would point out is that this is just the first issue.  We’re only 20 pages into this story and everything is connected when you think about serialized fiction.  It will be interesting to see where the conversations move to in 6 issues.  12 issues.

Supergirl: Michael Green (the co-writer for this title) wrote on Jack & Bobby.  At the very least that gets him $2.99 and 20 pages of my time.  I wasn’t expecting much from this title and at the end I liked it quite a bit.  The writers gave a good sense of the voice for the new Kara and while the setup is similar to Supergirl origins of the past (Loeb/Turner Superman/Batman comes to mind), I suspect we haven’t seen it in this way, so I’m in.

Wonder Woman: there were a few pages of this title where I kind of didn’t know what was going on (it felt disjointed in the middle with a setup that was confusing, at least to me), but it pulled together towards the end and the cliffhanger was both shocking and got a bit of a laugh from me because of the nature of what Azzarello is doing.  The Cliff Chiang art is perfect, and you wonder how nobody ever tapped him to draw Diana before this.  I see this title getting stronger with the next issue and really building a nice foundation for some good Diana stories.

Silver Medal Winners

Birds of Prey:the original Chuck Dixon Birds of Prey was a “meat and potatoes” mercenary action/adventure comic book.  Gail Simone added her personality to the book and certainly gave it a tone that was unique to the title (and to her).  I commend Swierczynski for not trying to mimic Simone, but attempting to write his own version of this book.  His version leans more towards Dixon than Simone.  Which is not to say that there’s not humor in this issue.  There is, and there’s a character who might become a fan favorite if Swierczynski plays his cards right.  This feels like a standard “top of the stack” read for me.  Some people watch CSI, NCIS or Law & Order reruns.  I have my “top of the stack” titles…

Legion of Super Heroes: everything that a new reader would need to start on this title is there, but it means paying attention.  We’re talking the difference between the pilot to CSI and the pilot to Battlestar Galactica.  Paying attention is rewarded for both new and old readers.  But you gotta work at it.  That said, Paul Levitz is a master storyteller.  He’s got a lot going on with the relationships (a staple for Legion titles) and he’s got some good plot points established in the first issue.  Good action, nice cliffhanger but like Birds of Prey, this title has always received placement at the “top of the stack.”

Nightwing: this title felt a lot like Supergirl in that it spent a lot of time giving the reader a sense of who the “new” Dick Grayson is.  His voice.  His background.  Where he is at in his life.  It’s all there and done very well.  The mystery that’s being setup feels much like something from the Chuck Dixon run (two Dixon references in one blog. A record?), but I feel like Kyle Higgins knows where he’s going with this title and has a good sense of the character.

Red Hood and the Outlaws: I do not find Scott Lobdell all that funny (my personal opinion), and yet he feels the need to continue to put jokes in his titles.  It was enough to knock this from a gold to a silver.  Lobdell is a good writer when he can get out of his own way and there was enough there to bring me back for another issue.  Like Birds of Prey, it’s a “meat and potatoes” action/adventure title.  Editorial would do right by themselves to maybe space this and Birds of Prey out so they don’t ship together (so as to get new readers who might be picking up both titles to come in 2x a month as opposed to once).

The Drop List

Captain Atom: this was a well-written title and the art was unique and some of the best stuff I’ve seen come from the talented Freddie Williams II and colorist  Jose Villarrubia.  It’s just not for me.  The subject matter and the character didn’t interest me, but it’s a heck of a title and it might find its way to the bottom of someone else’s stack in a few months.

Tags: , , , , ,

One Response to “Week 3 Of DC: The New 52”

  1. Cheap vehicle delivery Says:

    You should check this out…

    [...] Wonderful story, reckoned we could combine a few unrelated data, nevertheless really worth taking a look, whoa did one learn about Mid East has got more problerms as well [...]……

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

