Adam Walsh Case Solved

I was scrolling Google News and my heart stopped when I saw the headline, “Police Expected to Close Adam Walsh Case.” (New York Times)

I grew up in South Florida, not far from where Adam Walsh was abducted and found dead.

I didn’t know Adam personally.  But I might have at some point.  I could have.  He was one of us.  One of the thousands of kids who grew up down there.

While I don’t know about the rest of the world, I do know that my world.  South Florida in the early 1980’s, dramatically changed.

Parents became more vigilant, down to fingerprinting their kids as a way to assist the police in identifying them in the event of something like this.  There are thousands of kids my age that grew up down there that know exactly what I’m talking about.  How our parents kept closer tabs on us.  How we didn’t leave the house alone as much.  How we become more aware of the dangers around us.

While this brings closure to his family, and while John Walsh (Wikipedia) has done an amazing job with his crusade to rid the world of this kind of evil, it sadly doesn’t bring back Adam.

The only thing I can think to say is that I only wish I’d have gotten a chance to know Adam.

Usually I’m not such a downer.  But like I said, this is a moment, one of those moments in every person’s life, that you remember forever.

Hopefully something lighter tomorrow (I’ve got a stack of Warren Ellis X-Men issues on the coffee table, he’s always good for a pickme up).

Leave a Reply

