Week 2 Of DC: The New 52

The “Did Not Buy” Category

  • Batman And Robin
  • Deathstroke
  • Red Lanterns
  • Resurrection Man
  • Suicide Squad
  • Superboy

Gold Medal Winners

Batwoman: after a number of false starts, Batwoman is finally back.  JH Williams III is a sequential art master whose pages probably make industry veterans jealous.  If you want to get someone into comic books, this is the title to give them.  It’s lush.  It’s extremely well-wrtiten by Williams and Blackman and it’s extremely accessible but has all sorts of “easter eggs” for old farts like me.  I am quite glad to have Batwoman back in my rotation.

Demon Knights: finally, a book for the LARP crowd.  Am I right, ladies?  In all seriousness, Cornell is in his element with this title.  The setup is dirt simple.  The characters are blank slates and the action is over the top.  This is meant to be a “fun” book and that tone comes across despite the misleading cover. This book benefits by not being a “super hero” title (even though it has magic elements) and I suspect most people, myself included, will enjoy having this in their pull to break put the monotony of traditional super hero titles.

Frankenstein, Agent of S.H.A.D.E.: Lemire is 2-0 with Animal Man and now this title.  This is a quirky over-the-top blend of high concept science fiction and dark humor that when put together is a ton of fun.  This title reminds me of Warren Ellis Stormwatch mashed up with odd 1980’s indie comic books.  I liked the Flashpoint mini-series and I’m on board for the regular series.

Green Lantern: since Geoff Johns started writing Green Lantern, this title has always been consistent and it’s never bad.  I would say the same for this new issue.  It’s a lot of setup and I can’t say I know where it’s going, but I’ve been enjoying the ride so far and there’s no reason to stop any time soon.

Silver Medal Winners

Grifter: the cover was extremely misleading.  Grifter, sadly, is not falling and shooting things.  t honestly couldn’t tell you what the heck is happening in this title and I don’t know that it caught my interest per say, but I have a bit of a hunch that something is buried in this book that might be enjoyable and I’m going to try to give it one more shot.

Third Place (aka “The Drop List”)

Legion Lost: I understand that the conflict for this book will come from the fact that people from the future are going to have to deal with being stuck in the present, but I read enough books about the present.  I’d rather read about the future.  So, this title gets dropped.  Outside of my issues with the setting for this title, there’s nothing “wrong” with this title, per say.  It’s very well executed if this is what you’re into.

Mister Terrific: I can’t help but feel like this title was trying to make Mister Terrific into the DC version of Iron Man.  But if you’re going to compete head-to-head against Marvel, you gotta be as good, or better.  The problem is that this title is neither in my opinion.  Iron Man is currently being written by one of their strongest writers (Matt Fraction).  It’s an unfair matchup and I didn’t find enough to compel me to stay on board.

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

